Today we had a great opportunity to meet with the men of Kleibel Development and have an initial conversation to get to know one another.  I don't want to violate any trust so I will simply post what I said.  Feel free to share more if you are comfortable doing so.  Either comment here or email me ([email protected]) and I will post.

--------------------------------------------

Thank you for meeting with us and opening up this forum of constructive communication.

My name is Deborah Randall.  I’m the founder of Venus Theatre.  The Chair of the Laurel Arts District Exploratory Committee.  A Director of the Laurel Board of Trade.  A member of the League of Washington Theatres.  A Member of Theatre Washington.  I have housed my business on C Street for over six years now.

I’ve been a citizen of Laurel, Maryland since 1985 when I moved here by myself at the age of 19.  My family has a lot of history in Prince George’s County.  They have run pubs in the 40’s and given land so that Forestville could have a firehouse before that.  And, I was educated through the Prince Georges County School System.  Some of my most successful career artists friends were my pals in the Hallam Theatre Green Room at PGCC.  This includes Micheal Leon Wooley who was known as the voice of Broadway for his portrayal of Audrey 2 in Little Shop of Horrors, and if you’ve seen the Princess and the Frog you’d know him as Luis the Alligator.  Johnny Walker was on Drew Carey’s team for a while and you can catch him on the Sara Silverman show and the list goes on.

At my husbands request this morning I will tell you about my accomplishments.  While at Friendly High I wrote in over 20 female characters in our student musical and ended up playing the Cinderella-esque one.  At PGCC I was the prez of the drama club and resurrected the Experimental Theatre Company where I began directing at the age of 19.  Later I became a cum laude grad of UMBC as a theatre major/dance minor.  I was fortunate to perform with some really wonderful professional companies in the area.  But, I was not satisfied with the quality of the roles of women.  So, I began writing my own and producing brilliant and neglected others and toured four separate solo shows, wrote two of them.  Was a guest at the innovators series in Arlington among many many other events.  For ten years I researched the Molly Maguires.  That play was published in an anthology entitled Anthracite! And taught at Penn State for a time.  This project prompted Professor Philip Mosley to talk about my process in front of a panel of professors in Austria.  I was analyzed on the other side of the pond.  You name it, I’ve probably seen it or lived it.

I am the recipient of the Artistic Director award with Helen Hayes, two time winner of the play of the year award with Curve Magazine, nominated for an American Theatre Critics Award, as well as the recipient of the American Express Award. 

Plays that we have premiered have gone on to get full University distribution from Samuel French, to be remounted with nonprofits and independent films growing out of the experience.  Our readings are spoken of in recent publications.  And, most significant are the artists I have had the great and incredible pleasure of collaborating with over the years.

I am a Prince Georges girl and I’m happy to house my business in Laurel’s historic district.  I’m also determined to rebrand so that the place I call home receives the respect it deserves.

For about 15 years I produced theater through four different states and Washington, DC.  It’s been a long road and one that ended up leading me back home.

The areas I produced have changed dramatically over time.  And, each success story holds a theatre at its center.  On 14th Street, it began with the Source, Woolly Mammoth, and Studio Theatres back in the 80’s.  Today the Studio theatre spans the block, the Source has become central to the surrounding community.  Where only one unmarked 7-11 used to stand we now see funky urban furniture shops, Caribou Coffee, Whole Food Markets, and too many active storefronts to recollect.

On 7th Street, where I produced at the Warehouse Theatre as the Convention Center was being built across the street causing rats to eat our props, The Shakespeare Theatre changed everything.  Michael Kahn now has three structures, Woolly Mammoth has relocated there, and the development in the neighborhood where my car was broken into every show now includes a Busboys and Poets,  a gourmet Safeway - with Olive Bar attendant, and the Verizon Center couched on 7th Street which may or may not now look like Broadway threw up on Chinatown.

Shirlington’s new hip scene was raised entirely around Signature Theatre.

This brings me to want to make very clear here the power of art in terms of economic development. 

Three years ago statistics show that the arts generated $1.4 billion dollars and created 12,000 jobs.  That added up to 41 million dollars in state taxes during a recession.  Everyone in this room can probably now quote the statistic that says it best, but I’ll say it here again:  For every dollar spent on the arts in Maryland, $2.40 is spent at a neighboring retail business.  1:2.50

I believe it’s time to officially launch the get-off-the-couch movement.  Laurel is one of the first of five cities in the state to be labeled green sustainable.  The City has made us an arts district and looking to our fellow arts districts to the east and west we have learned some valuable lessons.

From Hyattsville, we have learned that the residents and artists must be in sync with the developers and lawmakers or else there will be a drag that can put a decades slow down on the process and leave the project in the red.  From Silver Spring we have learned that it’s nice to attract visitors but we don’t want to do that at the expense of chasing away residents. 

I see a pedestrian friendly active community with pedicabs along the river and green buildings popping up on Main Street.  Personally, I’d love to have the first green theatre in Maryland.  We want an historic district that is ecofriendly.  One where residents are out and about including a thriving nightlife.  Where people come to enjoy the small town experience with national exposure, recognition, and respect. 

We are a mill town. 

We are the place where the fabric of adventure was quite literally created.  The fabric made here became the sails of ships, the covers of wagons, it was the dreamers fabric created with hard work, precision, and craft.  That’s what we are really about.

We know that Konterra is a mere 3 miles away.  The racetrack is only 1/2 a mile away.  Fort Meade is 8 miles away.  We know the development on Route one will continue and that contract workers continue to pore in through BRAC’s relocation program and cause structures to seemingly fly up over night.

We don’t need to compete with any of that.  We want to embrace the work ethic of our mill town history, the precision, the craft, the beauty of our riverfront park, and the growth that comes when you place the arts at the center of economic development.

Just look at H Street in DC.  The structures were built but the people remained transient.  And now, the structures are closing down.

Bricks and mortar can be beautiful, but without the community that has invested decade upon decade, true success will become elusive.  For those of us who run nonprofits, we need funding streams.  We need financial initiatives.  We are already stretched.

And we are coming together in various ways.  On Saturdays between 11 and 2 Venus Theatre has open lobby hours for the Coffee Rings Café.  This features Something Special Coffee by Laurie Blitz, Rings and more jewelry by Michelle Arsenault, and other Pretty Things by Marilyn Johnson.  In May Kristen Arant will lead drum circles outside during our Coffee Rings Café.  The purpose is to give women business owners without a storefront presence a chance to be seen with their products.

Abbie and her committee are working on arts festivals for C Street.  We are ready to collaborate with interested parties.

It’s time for proper funding and proper structures.

The risk of building shells without the spirit and vision of the residents becomes a real concern for this committee.  Businesses that have sustained over time and were built with sweat equity and moxy need to be met now with strong initiatives that insure a little security so that we don’t repeat what happened with the Arts Center and the flurry that Resa now finds herself in.  In doing this, new businesses will be very attracted to the prospect.  Existing businesses are the best advertising for new businesses.  And, we appreciate the care being given to our good work.

We have a great opportunity here to build something magnificent together.

So, I am excited to be a partner.  To figure out a way for everyone to thrive.  My phone stays charged.

There’s a show tonight at 8.  My playwright arrived from Minnesota yesterday.  He’s got a friend coming from Philly, one coming from NYC today-all staying at the Quality Inn and coming to C Street.  And, that’s been happening for over five years. 

It’s just time to grow this district.  So, let’s move forward in the spirit of clean communication and cooperative citizenship.

Thanks so much for giving me a seat at your table.

And, I’ll see you on C.



Leave a Reply.