Picture
We were at the front door of City Hall for the Mayors Open House yesterday.  It was a great opportunity to network and chat with City Hall, citizens, and other organizations in the city.  We continue to expand our mailing list with hopes that the conversation will carry on.

I produced theatre for about 15 years in DC and four other states before the almost seven years that my Company has been located on C Street.  There are several locations that Companies such as mine have simply been gentrified out of.  We are the  magnet and then we can't afford the rent.  I have to say that never before in my experience has the Mayor and leadership given ear to the artists in this way.  To have a full seat at the table is a miraculous occurrence. 

Laurel is an exceptional place and the possibilities here are very exciting.

This morning I met with Laurel High School Drama Teacher Francis Hammond.  I am planning to bring Venus Theatre to Laurel High on the 15th.  This is the first time I've visited Laurel HS but I have heard amazing things about the theatre facility there.  Frank was able to show me the black box but we could not get into the full auditorium this morning.  We are working to build volunteer connections as well as theatre networking opportunities and collaborations. 

I pose the question here, without blame, how valuable is it to have a standing structure if craftspeople can't access it?
Picture
This afternoon I met with Councilwoman Mary Lehman and the Director of the Prince Georges County Arts and Humanities Council, Rhonda Dallas.  It was a lively conversation and there's so much I want to share with you about that.  I believe both women will be in attendance at our next LADEC meeting on the 20th at Noon at Venus.

First, on the green end.  Laurel is one of the first of five green assigned communities in the state.  Rhonda told me that the Presidential Award for Green Cities was just awarded to Edmonton right here in MD.  I'd love to plan a field trip to see that city in action!

Having just visited a public school, the subject of education did come up in conversation.  Out of that there will be a tour of Laurel HS arranged on March 19th at 10am.  Rhonda is going to take that whole day to explore Laurel, so I'll be showing her Main Street and the arts district zoning.  She'd also like to see the rest of the street all the way up to the museum.  Let's stay in touch about that. 

Mary didn't know about the Art Center closing.  We chatted for a time.  I think the overall concern is to do with identifying the anchor arts orgs.  It's just devastating to lose them.  The Art Center has stood for 35 years.  So, it would benefit everyone to build on that instead of tearing down the history and going back in time to start from scratch. 

Arts education comes to the fore again and again.  Why don't our children have access to it the way that we did?  It teaches self-esteem, individual expression, the benefits are long reaching.  All the pieces seem to be there to bring the arts to our youth.  There are students in need of learning about the arts and there are arts educators ready to teach.  The funding and connectivity is where we are falling short.  So, we are hoping to bridge this damaging gap and get artists paid and students expressing.

Another topic on the table was viewing art as a means of economic development.  I know I've been chanting that for every dollar spent on art $2.40 is spent at a neighboring business.  It turns out Mr. Baker has launched an initiative that was just passed by the Council last fall.  A FIFTY MILLION DOLLAR initiative!  With Seven million being allocated in the first year.  I will put this conversation on our agenda for the 20th.

In addition to the arts being used to improve and enhance education as well as spurring economic development we also discussed the funding available for creative industries.  Other parts of the state have deemed dairy farms creative industries deserving of funding.  What is more creative than the arts? 

Finally, there will be an Arts Community Evening Budget Hearing for Park and Planning sometime in April/May.  Currently, funds are allocated via Parks and Rec at $130,000 annually.  So representation and passionate pleas for limited funds will be necessary at this event.  The first rule of theatre:  One must show up.  I think a showing of who we are there could make a really big impact.  Depending on the date, I may or may not be available myself and hope that a coalition will go with or without me.  All council members will be in attendance and the date should be announced soon.

See you at the theatre!




Leave a Reply.